Until recently I worked in a Travel Agency servicing corporate clients. I often dealt with the CEO and other senior staff. Even if the person was younger than me, I would never call them by their first name, until invited to do so. And there some more conservative gentleman who would always remain, Sir or Mr. so and so.

Growing up, I was taught to address adults as Mr. So and So or Mrs. (Miss) So and So. Family friends were addressed as Uncle and Auntie (even though I knew they were not related).

Today, I run my own business and I rely on clients for the business to survive. Again, the age of the person I am dealing with is not important, what is important is that as a paying client, they deserve to be treated with respect. I will address them as Mr. or Ms. So and So until invited to do otherwise.

It is called RESPECT!

Leave a Reply

