The King

Posted: 03/10/2010 in Uncategorized

I came across this post on Facebook, which reflects excatly my sentiments:

ELVIS PRESLEY “There have been a lotta tough guys. There have been pretenders. And there have been contenders. But there is only one king” — Bruce Springsteen about Elvis Presley

Whilst many refer to Michael Jackson as the King of pop, I disagree. If anything, he was the Pretender to the Throne. Certainly he was a talented if somewhat eccentric performer. But the King? Definitely not! That title belongs to Elvis

My generation grew up on a diet of Elvis, Cliff Richard followed by the Beatles followed by a variety of other artist such as The Rolling Stones, The Beach Boys and countless others, but to me Elvis remains The King.

Whats my favorite Elvis song, easy – Suspicious Minds. I cannot explain why this is my favorite song, it just is. I have it as the ring tone on my phone, so when the songs comes on the radio or if I am playing it on CD, I will still automatically reach for my phone.

Although Elvis acted in several films and showed talent he ill best be remembered as a singer According to Wikipedia, his favorite film was King Creole. Just after I met my future wife, Elvis died under tragic circumstances and one of the cinemas in town held an Elvis festival to celebrate his life. The one movie we went to see was “King Creole”

I like a variety of music both recent and classic, but you gessed it, to me Elvis will always be The King

Leave a Reply

